I Cantori Scholarship in Choral Music at Armstrong Atlantic State University

1995-96 Sonya Yoder

1996-97 Darren Harrison

1997-98 Timothy Wheeles

1998-99 Heather Besier

Sponsorship contributions can be designated for use in support of the I Cantori Scholarship in Choral Music. This award, which covers full tuition for one year, goes to an outstanding music student at Armstrong Atlantic University who is preparing for a career in choral music. The award winner for 1997-98 is Tim Wheeles. The past winners are Sonia Yoder, who is in her first year of teaching as the choral director at Groves High School, and Darren Harrison, who is scheduled to graduate this year.

Acknowledgements

St. John's Episcopal Church Fr. William Ralston, rector Kenneth Yates, choirmaster

Skidaway Island United Methodist Church
Dr. James Giddons, pastor
Peggy Breese, choir director

Wesley Monumental United Methodist Church
Dr. David Haygood, pastor
Timothy L. Hall, music director

Carolina Stores, Inc.

Foley House Inn



Robert L. Harris, conductor Gene L. Jarvis, organ Timothy L. Hall, organ

presents

Eighth Annual Christmas Concert

December 4 - St John's Episcopal Church
December 7 - Skidaway United Methodist Church
December 11 - Wesley Monumental United
Methodist Church

I Cantori Commissions New Compositions - Premiers

The 1998 Christmas concerts feature the first performances of a work commissioned from American composer, Robert H. Young. This is the seventh commission which the group has underwritten.

I Cantori welcomes support for our ongoing project of commissioning new compositions by eminent choral composers. Significant donors can have their name included in the printed edition of the work when it is published. Any support is most welcome. For more information call 925-7866.

I Cantori First Performances

1993	Zdenek Lukas Francesco Durante	Requiem - American premier Laetatus Sum, Beatus Vir, Dixit Dominus - first modern performance
1995	Daniel Pinkham George Root Eugene Butler	Four Fragments From John Donne* The Serenade; Blessing and Honor; Roll On, Majestic Ocean - first modern performance Three Spanish Ballades*
1996	Williametta Spencer Vaclav Nelhybel Kevin Hampton	SATB arrangement And the Wild Rose Is a Dove* Hodie* O Magnum Mysterium+
1997	Zdenek Lukas Vera Kistlerova Christopher Roper Francesco Durante	Praedicatio* Morning Star+ The Lord's Prayer+ Concorso Fatto - first modern performance
1998	Peter Schickele Zdenek Lukas Robert G. Canady	Incantations* No Man Is an Island+ Psalm 23 - A Choral Paraphrase+

^{*}composer commissioned by I Cantori +world premier performance

program

O magnum mysterium	Thomas Luis de Victoria		
O magnum mysterium	Morten Lauridsen		
A	morton Edulidaen		
Es ist ein Ros entsprungen	Michael Praetorius		
Poss Mystics	1571-1621		
Rosa Mystica	Robert H. Young		
Wie shoen leuchtet der	Michael Praetorius		
Morgenstorn			
Veni, Veni, Emmanuel	Robert H. Young		
Lullay My Liking			
Sweet Was the Song			
Benedictus	Emile Paladilhe		
Diane O'Brien, soprano	1844-1926		
Erin Freeman, soprano Nathaniel Roper, baritone			
Billy Wooten, tenor	ald to the get as to be a to		
- my mosten, tenor	d value of the		
Joys Seven	arr. Stephen Cleobury		
What Sweeter Music	John Rutter		
Sir Christemas	William Mathias		

intermission

A Babe Is Born in Bethlehem Robert H. Young world premier performance
Commissioned by I Cantori
In Celebration of the life and ministry of
John Warren Roper

Jesus, Jesus, Rest Your Head arr. Bradley Ellingboe

Three Christmas Miniatures The Coming Child Christmas Night Childhood

Robert H. Young

Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day John Gardner arr. David Willcocks Ding Dong! Merrily on High

There Is No Rose of Such Virtue

Robert H. Young

Robert H. Young A Babe Is Born in Bethlehem conducted by the composer

The Twelve Days of Christmas

arr. Ian Humphris

ABOUT THE COMPOSER

Born in Santa Cruz, California, April 20, 1923, Robert Young attended public schools there and enlisted in the United States Marines where he served from 1941 to 1945. His collegiate career includes a Bachelor of Music degree from Otterbein College, Master of Music from Northwestern University, and a Doctor of Musical Arts from the University of Southern California

After serving as Minister of Music in several California churches, Dr. Young joined the faculty of Baylor University in 1963 where he remained until retirement in 1993. Through his thirty-year tenure, he was in turn Chairman of Church Music, Chairman of Vocal Studies, Chairman of Graduate Studies, and in 1988, Interim Dean of the School of Music. He was also the founder and director of the Baylor Chamber Singers, an ensemble that attained a wide reputation for excellence. It was his work with the Chamber Singers and the beautiful surroundings of the Armstrong Browning Library where they perform that provided much of the inspiration for his numerous choral compositions.

In retirement, Dr. Young continues a busy schedule of part-time teaching at the university, Choirmaster at St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Waco, and is a member of the Music Commission for the Episcopal Diocese of Texas. He is presently serving a two-year term as Vice President for the Church/Community Division of the Texas Choral Directors Association.

I Cantori

soprano Heidi Bindhammer Peggy Breese Erin Freeman Mari Harris Diane O'Brien Alysa Smith Mimi Witherington

alto Amanda Crider Tonya Hillis Suzanne Ricks Elizabeth van Beest

Sonia Yoder

tenor

R. Gregory Canady Randall Canady Wayne Ealey Raymond R. Ellis Timothy L. Hall Timothy Wheeles Billy Wooten

bass Daniel C. Cohen Gene L. Jarvis Gregory Allen Johnson Preston Powers Nathaniel Roper Ira Ryan

manager treasurer

Diane O'Brien Raymond R. Ellis, jr.

Benefactors

Jim and Melissa Emery Wachovia Bank Dorothea Costrini in memory of Rev. John W. Roper

Contributors

Experience Works! Staffing Service Mark Holt E. Shaver The Shuttle - John Schoolfield